Automatic Closure of Tickets

You can use a configurable setting to allow automatic closure of tickets (requests/incidents/problems, change orders, or issues). When a ticket is set to a Resolved status, the ticket is automatically closed in the number of business hours specified. The Auto Close activity notification sent to the end user displays the number of business hours before the ticket is closed. The number of hours is configurable and tenant-specific. If the status is changed before the configurable number of hours ends, the ticket closure is canceled.
casm1401
You can use a configurable setting to allow automatic closure of tickets (requests/incidents/problems, change orders, or issues). When a ticket is set to a Resolved status, the ticket is automatically closed in the number of business hours specified. The Auto Close activity notification sent to the end user displays the number of business hours before the ticket is closed. The number of hours is configurable and tenant-specific. If the status is changed before the configurable number of hours ends, the ticket closure is canceled.
Administrators, can perform the following actions:
  • Define an Auto Close ticket setting to control the number of business hours, for the end user, before the ticket is automatically closed.
  • Set up an Auto Close activity notification to notify the appropriate contacts when automatic closure is scheduled for a ticket.
If you use multi-tenancy, consider the following:
  • The system uses the default public Auto Close setting when a tenant-specific Auto Close setting is not found.
  • There is one Auto Close setting for each tenant.
If the end user and requester of a ticket are different, the workshift of the requester is given priority and considered for auto close calculations.
How to Define Auto Close Ticket Settings
You can define the number of business hours before a ticket is closed (all ticket types) as follows:
  1. On the Administration tab, select Service Desk, Application Data, Codes, Auto Close.
  2. Click Create New on the list page.
  3. Complete the following fields on the detail page:
    • Symbol
      Defines the system setting name.
    • Request/Incident/Problem/Change Order/Issue
      Defines the number of business hours, after the ticket is set to Resolved status, before the ticket is closed. If the status is changed before the number of hours ends, the ticket closure is canceled. 0 (zero) hours indicates that automatic closure is not implemented for the ticket type.
    • Description
      Provides a brief description of the record.
    • Status
      Indicates if the record is active or inactive.
    The auto close setting is defined.
  4. Click Save, Close Window.
    The new setting appears on the Auto Close List page when you redisplay the list.
How to Define an Auto Close Activity Notification
You can change the settings in the default Auto Close activity notification to notify the appropriate contacts when automatic closure is scheduled for a ticket. The activity is valid for all CA SDM ticket types, and include a default notification rule for requests/incidents/problems, change orders and issues.
To define an auto close activity notification, do the following:
  1. On the Administration tab, select Notifications, Activity Notifications.
  2. Select the Auto Close activity notification on the list page to open it.
  3. Update the default Auto Close Notification Rule and specify contacts to receive notification.
  4. Click Save, Close window.
    The updated Auto Close activity notification appears in the Activity Notification List when you redisplay the list.