Configurations

As an administrator, you can configure the user interface to simplify how users enter, manage, and search for data. You can also protect users from performing unauthorized tasks, ensure that you conform to your IT asset management practices. When you configure the user interface, you, and all users affected by your configuration changes, immediately see the changes. For example, you do not want anyone, except the asset manager, to see any information for sites and companies. Therefore, you hide the Site and Company tabs and specify that only users in the asset manager role can see those tabs.
casm1401
As an administrator, you can configure the user interface to simplify how users enter, manage, and search for data. You can also protect users from performing unauthorized tasks, ensure that you conform to your IT asset management practices. When you configure the user interface, you, and all users affected by your configuration changes, immediately see the changes. For example, you do not want anyone, except the asset manager, to see any information for sites and companies. Therefore, you hide the Site and Company tabs and specify that only users in the asset manager role can see those tabs.
When configuring the user interface, use the following types of configurations:
  • Global configuration
    . Configure the product for all users, regardless of their role.
    A
    global configuration
    lets you modify the functionality of your product implementation. You focus on configuring the pages, objects, fields for your specific implementation. You need not worry about making configuration changes for all possible users and roles.
    For example, you do not want to use the contact management functionality. Therefore you define a global configuration on the Contact page, hide this functionality from all users, and save the global configuration. As a result, users do not see the Contact page, unless you define a local configuration to override the global configuration.
    A global configuration can apply to all asset families or legal templates or to a specific family or template. You can have only one global configuration that applies to all families or templates or that applies to a specific family or template.
    If you do not want to make any global user interface changes for your implementation, you do not have to define a global configuration. You can define a local configuration without defining a global configuration.
  • Local configuration
    . Configure the product for specific users and roles.
    Use a
    local configuration
    to configure the user interface pages based on the requirements of the different users and roles.
    Local configuration changes override global configuration changes.
    For example, you define a global configuration to hide the contact management functionality in your implementation. However, there are users in a specific role who must be able to see and update contact information. Therefore, you define a local configuration on the Contact page, make the contact information appear, and save the local configuration. When you assign the local configuration to the users in the role, they see the contact information.
    A local configuration can apply to all asset families or legal templates or to a specific family or template. You can have multiple local configurations that apply to all families or templates or that apply to a specific family or template. You can assign to a role only one local configuration that applies to all families or templates or that applies to a specific family or template.
You cannot assign a global configuration to a role. By default, a global configuration is assigned to all roles when the users log in and the security permissions for the roles are determined. You can only assign a local configuration to a role.
A global configuration is always assigned to all roles, even when you assign the role to a local configuration. Any permission from the global configuration that a local configuration does not override is applied to the role. Global configurations are used to configure the product for every user (except for the system administrator role,
uapmadmin
). To configure the user interface on a more detailed level by role, add a local configuration. In this situation, all users in all roles will see the configured interface based on the global configuration changes, and users assigned to a local configuration will see the additional changes to the interface.
If a user is assigned to a local configuration, the local configuration is assigned to the role when the user logs in.