Manage Project Participants

ccppmop1571
As a project manager, use
Clarity PPM
to manage your projects and project participants. Participants are additional users beyond the core project team staff. These participants, such as project stakeholders and senior management, also require access to projects to track progress and to access the project documentation.
You can add users to projects as participants and then organize them into participant groups. Control access to the project by participant and participant group.
2
Prerequisites:
  • Your project is set up.
  • The users that you want to add as participants are set up.
By default, the product adds project employee resources as project participants when you add them as team staff. Your administrator can change the
Automatically Add Staff Members As Investment Participant
project management setting to change this behavior.
Configure Project Staffing Settings for Team Participants
As an administrator or senior project manager, you can configure settings that influence the behavior of the Team Participants page.
  1. In classic PPM, click
    Administration
    ,
    Project Management
    ,
    Settings
    .
  2. Configure the 
    Require Resource - Hard Book right to add participants
     setting. By default, the option is not selected. Project managers and scrum masters see all the participants that they can view in the list.
    • To see 
      more
       participants, clear this check box. The application shows all the participants that you can view based on your resource view access rights.
    • To see 
      fewer
       participants, select this check box. The application filters the participants based on more restrictive access rights. To see a participant, in addition to the view rights, you also need the 
      Resource - Hard Book
       access right.
    For each logged in manager, the system determines the participants based on their
    Resource - View
    access rights. Even if you have
    Resource - Hard Book
    or
    Resource - Soft Book
    rights, the system does not show the participants to you. The
    Resource - View
    access right is required to show the participant.
  3. Configure the 
    Hide System Groups option when adding participants
     setting. By default, the application shows system groups on the Project Team Participants page. To hide system groups, select this option.
Whether the setting is selected or clear, users continue to see any system groups that were already added if they select
All
in the
Show
field. As a project manager or administrator, you can remove any unnecessary system groups.
The following image shows how the administrative setting influences the Team Participants page.
F18345-HIDE-SYSTEM-GROUPS.jpg
Add Participants
You can add users to your project as participants to provide them with view access to project information and documentation.
Follow these steps:
  1. Open a project and click
    Team
    .
  2. Click the
    Team
    tab menu and click
    Participants
    .
  3. In the
    Show
    field, select
    Resources
    , and perform any of the following actions:
    • Enter an ID in the
      Add by Resource ID
      field and click
      Add
      . The user is added to the participant list.
      Add by Resource ID
      does not appear when the 
      Require Resource - Hard Book right to add participants
       option is enabled.
    • Click
      Add
      to open the
      Add Resources
      page, select the users to add, and click
      Add
      . The selected users are added to the participant list. If the 
      Require Resource - Hard Book right to add participants
      option is enabled, you can add only those resources on whom you have hard booking access rights.
    • Click
      Add Staff
      : Existing Team Staff resources are added to the participant list.
  4. (Optional) Select the participants and click
    Make Collaboration Manager
    . The selected participants are provided with additional rights on the
    Collaboration
    tab to manage documents and discussions.
The creator of the project is the default collaboration manager.
Add Participants in System Groups
Another method for adding participants uses system groups.
  1. Open a project and click 
    Team
    .
  2. Click the 
    Team
     tab menu and click 
    Participants
    .
  3. In the 
    Show
     field, select 
    System Groups.
  4. Click
    Add
    , select the system group to add, and click
    Add
    .
    The selected system group is added to the participant list. 
Create Participant Groups
You can organize project participants into participant groups. Participant groups enable you to manage access rights collectively.
Follow these steps:
  1. Open a project and click
    Team
    .
  2. In the
    Team
    menu, click
    Participant Groups
    .
  3. Click
    Add
    .
  4. Enter a group name and description.
  5. Click the binoculars icon at the Select Participants prompt.
  6. Select participants from the Resources tab, and click Add.
    The selected participants are added to the participant group.
  7. (Optional) Select system groups from the System Groups tab, and click Add.
    The selected system groups are added to the participant group.
  8. Click
    Submit
    .
    To manage participant groups, use the Team menu Participant Groups option.