Create and Edit Projects

To get started with TDM, create a project.
tdm49
To get started with
Test Data Manager
, create a project. A project must contain at least one version. For simple applications, you can work with a single version. However, if you have a complex application, create multiple project versions to address different scenarios. The version name is usually the name of the current release of your database/application; for example, 7.A. If you are not sure about the exact version, use Version 1. You can always edit the name later when you are sure of the exact version.
You can also create one generic version within each project in Datamaker; not in the Portal. The generic version stores all generic test cases, which normal test cases can then inherit. For example, in a travel system, you can create a standard trip. The standard trip is then available when you edit the data.
Create a Project
  1. Click the Project Manager icon (gear icon) in the top blue bar.
    The
    Manage Projects
    dialog opens.
  2. Click the
    New Project
    button.
    The
    New Project
    dialog opens.
  3. Specify the following information and click
    Save
    :
    • Name
      Specifies the project name.
    • Description
      Specifies a brief description of the project.
    • Version
      Lets you specify an initial version of your choice for the project.
    • Version Description
      Specifies a brief description of the project version.
    • All new versions inherit tables from previous version
      Specifies whether you want a new project version to inherit tables from a previous version.
    The project is created successfully with the provided information.
  4. Review the
    Manage Projects
    dialog to verify that the created project is available in the list.
Use the search feature to find a specific project in the list.
Edit Project Details
After you create a project, you can update the required project information based on your changed requirements. Additionally, you can use the same project details page to map Active Directory (AD)/LDAP groups to the appropriate CA TDM Portal user groups.
Follow these steps:
  1. Access the CA TDM Portal.
  2. Click the Project Manager icon (gear icon) in the top blue bar.
    The
    Manage Projects
    dialog opens.
  3. Locate the project for which you want to update the relevant information or map AD/LDAP groups.
  4. Click the project name in the list.
    Displays the following details of the selected project:
    • Project Name
      Specifies the project name. Do the following to modify the project name:
      • Click the Edit icon (pencil).
      • Modify the project name.
      • Click the Save icon. Click the Cancel icon to undo the changes.
    • Description
      Specifies the project description. Do the following to modify the project description:
      • Click the Edit icon.
      • Modify the project description.
      • Click the Save icon. Click the Cancel icon to undo the changes.
    • Project Settings
      Shows the following information related to the corresponding project:
      • Project ID
        Specifies the auto assigned project ID when you create a project.
      • Inherit Tables
        Specifies whether table definitions can be inherited from prior versions or not.
        Default: Yes
      • Date Format
        Specifies the default date format for publishing date columns.
      • Project Type
        Specifies whether the project type is ‘DB (Database)’ or ‘soapUI’. When you create project in Datamaker, you can select the type as 'soapUI' for the projects to be visible in SoapUI.
        Default: DB
    • User Groups
      (For AD/LDAP authentication mode) Lets you map Active Directory (AD)/LDAP groups to appropriate CA TDM Portal user groups for the selected project. Search for and select the required AD/LDAP group by entering its name in the
      AD/LDAP Groups
      field. With this mapping, when users belonging to the mapped AD/LDAP group try to log into the CA TDM Portal for the first time, they are automatically added to the CA TDM repository. Administrators do not need to add them explicitly to the CA TDM Portal user group. Such users can log into the CA TDM Portal using their AD/LDAP credentials; they are authenticated based on the mapped CA TDM Portal user group. They get access to the same resources that are available to other users, who are part of the CA TDM Portal user group (mapped).
      Note:
      You can map AD/LDAP groups to a CA TDM Portal user group from the user group management page, too. Additionally, for more information about how to integrate Active Directory with the CA TDM Portal, see LDAP Integration with the CA TDM Portal.
  5. Review the changed information.
You have successfully updated the project information and mapped AD/LDAP groups to the CA TDM Portal user groups.
Delete a Project
If you no longer need a specific project, you can delete it from your CA TDM Portal environment. You must have appropriate privileges to delete a project.
You cannot delete a project if it includes versions. If you want to delete such a project, you must first delete all the versions that are included in the project.
  1. Access the CA TDM Portal.
  2. Click the Project Manager icon (gear icon) in the top blue bar.
    The
    Manage Projects
    dialog opens.
  3. Locate the project that you want to delete.
  4. Click the Delete Project icon (X icon) in the row corresponding to the identified project that you want to delete.
    A confirmation message appears.
  5. Click
    Delete
    to proceed with the delete process.
    A confirmation message states that the project is successfully deleted.
Last-Accessed Project
The CA TDM Portal remembers the last project that you access before you move out of the Portal. For example, if your browser is closed and you again log into the Portal using the same browser, the Portal selects the last project that was accessed before the browser was closed. You are not required to re-select your last-accessed project every time you log into the Portal.
This behavior is applicable if you use the same browser to access the Portal for your subsequent sessions. If you use a different browser for your subsequent sessions, the Portal does not remember your last-accessed project in the new browser. For example, if you use Google Chrome to access the Portal for one session and later you use Mozilla Firefox for the next session, the last project that you selected in Google Chrome is not automatically selected when you open the Portal in Mozilla Firefox.
Additionally, if you clear the browser cache, the project selection is lost.
For more information about project versions, see Manage Project Versions.