Manage Users

You manage users through user permissions and user preferences. However, most permissions are set on the Enterprise Manager level.
apmdevops106
You manage users through user permissions and user preferences. However, most permissions are set on the Enterprise Manager level.
User Permissions
Workstation users are assigned a user name, password, and certain permissions. Permissions are granted at the Domain and Enterprise level. Some Workstation functions require specific permissions. For example, to publish a Management Information Base (MIB), a user must have publish_mib permission for the server. Your Introscope administrator assigns this permission to you. If you do not have sufficient permissions for a function, the function is disabled.
User Preferences
You use Introscope user preferences to specify:
  • A home dashboard
  • Whether to display Management Module names next to dashboard names in the Console
  • Low-threshold execution-time warnings for Transaction Tracer
Set a Home Dashboard
Dashboards are preconfigured windows that present graphical views of current or historical performance and availability metrics.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select Workstation > User Preferences.
  2. Select a dashboard by doing one of these actions:
    • Select a dashboard from the drop-down list.
    • Click Choose, enter a search string to narrow the selection, and select from the remaining list.
  3. Click Apply.
Display the Management Module and Domain Names
You can use the same name for dashboards that are in different Management Modules, and can use the same name for Management Modules that are in different Domains.
You can set User Preferences to display the name of the Management Module and Domain that contain the dashboard.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select Workstation > User Preferences.
  2. Select Show Module and Domain name with dashboard name.
  3. Click Apply.
    The Management Module and domain that contain the dashboard appear after the dashboard name.
Domain information does not appear when you have access to only one Domain.
Turn Off Low-Threshold Execution-Time Warnings
If you are running the Transaction Tracer and set the threshold execution time to less than one second -- to perform a deep analysis, for example -- you might see continual warnings. The warnings indicate increased overhead because of increased traces, so you might want to turn them off in a production environment.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select Workstation > User Preferences.
  2. Click the Transaction Tracer tab.
  3. Check the Don't warn when threshold is less than 1-second checkbox.
For more information about Transaction Tracing, see Using the Introscope Transaction Tracer.
Managing Language Settings
When using the Workstation tools:
  • User dialogs reflect the regional language set in the Control Panel on your computer.
  • You can set properties in Introscope reports to use a specific language setting separate from the regional language set for your computer.