Upgrade and Verify the Cluster Upgrade

During the upgrade process, Command Center shuts down, upgrades, and restarts each cluster component. During Verification, Command Center verifies that all the components are on the target version. Command Center shows the number of agents reporting to the Collectors after the upgrade. Use this information to verify whether the upgrade is successful.
apmdevops106
During the upgrade process, Command Center shuts down, upgrades, and restarts each cluster component. During Verification, Command Center verifies that all the components are on the target version. Command Center shows the number of agents reporting to the Collectors after the upgrade. Use this information to verify whether the upgrade is successful.
Upgrade the Cluster
During the upgrade process, Command Center finalizes the backup of your environment, and then upgrades all your settings. All APM data that are created between the last backup and the upgrade are saved. All your customizations and data migrate to the new CA APM version. After the Cluster is upgraded, Command Center restarts all the components. Collectors reconnect to the Manager of Managers (MOM) automatically when the MOM is active. Load balancing directs agents to Collectors. Agents can reconnect to a different Collector than they were connected to before the upgrade. 
  • If you upgrade Enterprise Team Center (ETC) Master and Provider clusters, upgrade the ETC Master cluster first. Next, upgrade the Provider clusters.
  • The ETC Provider clusters reconnect to the Master cluster only after you upgrade all clusters to the latest version.
  • If the ETC Master cluster upgrade fails, roll back the Master cluster, and troubleshoot the cause.
  • Do not upgrade ETC Provider Clusters until after you successfully upgraded the Master cluster. For more information about rolling back a cluster, see Rollback and Clean Up the Cluster Upgrade.
Follow these steps:
  1. In the 
    Upgrade
     section of the Upgrade Wizard, select the 
    I Accept the End User License Agreement
     checkbox.
  2. (Optional) Select on the 
    End-User License Agreement
     to download a copy.
  3. (Optional) If necessary, reset the backup by clicking 
    Reset Backup
    A confirmation dialog appears.
    • Select 
      Yes
       to reset the Backup.
  4. Select 
    Upgrade
    .
    The 
    Postgres Database Details
     dialog appears.
    If you use the Oracle Database, the dialog does not appear. The Oracle database does not require any credentials.
  5. Provide your 
    Admin Username
     and 
    Password
     for your Postgres Database and select 
    Test Connection
    .
    Command Center verifies the credentials.
  6. To start the upgrade, select 
    Start Upgrade
    The
    Upgrade Summary
    section shows the status of each component during the upgrade and whether a component fails during the upgrade. The
    Process Status
    shows if the upgrade failed.
    Download
    the log file to manually troubleshoot the upgrade failure. To troubleshoot the upgrade failure and manually resume the upgrade, see Resume a Failed Upgrade.
  7. (Optional) After the upgrade process is complete, select 
    Download
     to obtain a copy of the log files.
  8. To move to the 
    Verification 
    section of the Upgrade Wizard, select 
    Next
    .
You upgraded your cluster. Next, verify that your upgrade was successful. For more information, see Verify the Cluster Upgrade.
Verify the Cluster Upgrade
Verification shows the number of live and historical metrics. The number of metrics after the upgrade is the same or higher than before the upgrade. By default, CA APM collects more metrics after the upgrade. 
If you upgrade an ETC Master cluster, and the Master cluster upgrade fails, roll back the Master cluster and troubleshoot the cause. Do not upgrade ETC Provider Clusters until after you successfully upgraded the Master cluster. For more information about rolling back a cluster, see Rollback and Clean Up the Cluster Upgrade.
Rerun Verification several times to review the numbers and ensure that all your agents are reconnected.
Follow these steps:
  1. In the 
    Verification
     section of the Upgrade Wizard, select 
    Verify
    .
    Verification runs. Command Center shows the Process Status, Metrics Overview, and Version Validation Summary.
  2. Review the metrics in the 
    Metrics Overview
     panel.
    Command Center displays the number of agents reporting to the Collectors after the upgrade and the number of live and historic metrics.
  3. Review the
    Version Validation Summary
    and verify that the version number of all displayed components is the new version.
You verified the upgrade and completed all mandatory cluster upgrade steps. To reset your Experience Cards in Team Center after the upgrade, see Experience Node.