Customize Your User Settings

You can customize your user account's default dashboard and personal settings.
You can customize your user account's default dashboard and personal settings. You can also change the display settings, such as view suppression and item name display names and aliases, by customizing them.
In this article:
Set a Dashboard as Your Home Page
To log in to your preferred dashboard, set that dashboard as your home page. By default, the first dashboard in your first menu is your home page.
To return to your home page from any other page, click the logo in the upper left corner.
The following video shows how to set your default dashboard:

Follow these steps:
  1. Navigate to the dashboard that you want to set as your home page.
  2. (Optional) To set a specific context as your default, click the
    [change]
    link, and then select the group context for the dashboard. The home page saves the context.
    If the selected group is removed from your permission set, your default permission group is used for the dashboard context.
  3. Click
    More
    , and then click
    Set as Home Page
    .
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click
    Yes
    .
The selected dashboard is now your home page.
Customize your User Account Settings
User accounts include settings that you can customize, such as the preferred language and the time zone. Your role rights determine the settings that you can customize. If your user account has the required role right, you can change the settings.
Follow these steps:
  1. Click the name of your user account in the upper-right corner, and then click
    User Settings
    .
  2. Modify your user account settings:
    • Preferred Language
      Specify a language for the
      NetOps Portal
      user interface (UI).
      NetOps Portal
      displays the selected language regardless of the language selected for the operating system or for the browser language.
      For a language to display appropriately, the relevant fonts must be installed.
      For more information about the languages that
      DX NetOps Performance Management
      supports, see Language Support.
    • Email Address
    • Time Zone
      The default time zone is UTC (Coordinated Universal Time).
      Changing the time zone after email schedules are set up in
      NetOps Portal
      can cause incorrect times to appear in the Scheduled Emails UI.
    • Time Display Format
      Select the default time format, either 12 hours or 24 hours.
    • Default Group
      This group is the default context when you log in. The list only includes groups from your permission groups.
    • View Suppression
      View suppression hides views when the required data source is not registered or when a required technology is not configured. Similar behavior applies to context tabs and custom menus. Menus and tabs that include only suppressed views are hidden. View suppression applies to the default views on out-of-the-box dashboards. View suppression does not hide views from administrators when they use the view categories to edit a dashboard.
      When the data source that populates a view is registered, that view is no longer hidden.
      Values:
      • Suppress Views
        View suppression is enabled and views are hidden by default. You can disable it for troubleshooting purposes, or to help you decide whether to deploy another data source.
        When views are suppressed (View Suppression is enabled) and you delete (unregister) a data source, those dashboards and menus containing a suppressed view might not appear in
        NetOps Portal
        . Dashboards, context tabs, and custom menus must contain at least one unsuppressed view.
        For more information about the affects of suppressing views and deleting data sources, see Configure a Data Source.
      • Display All Views
        View suppression is disabled and all views appear.
    • Select one of the following options from the
      Item Name Display Setting
      drop-down:
      This option determines whether device and interface names appear as the display name or as the alias in dashboards and views. By default, all users see the display name.
      This option does
      not
      control how devices and interfaces appear in the device or interface inventory lists.
      To modify this option, your user account requires the View Item Display Name or Name Alias role right.
      • Use Display Name
      • Use Item Name Alias
  3. Click
    Save
    .
Change User Password
You can change the password for your user account.
By default, user passwords must meet the following requirements:
  • Be different than the username
  • Minimum length of 8 characters
  • Maximum length of 30 characters
  • Contain at least 3 of the following types of characters:
    • Special characters
    • Uppercase letters (A-Z)
    • Lowercase letters (a-z)
    • Numbers (0-9)
If desired, you can disable these requirements.
Follow these steps:
  1. Click the name of your user account in the upper-right corner and click
    Change Password
    .
  2. Enter the old password.
  3. Enter the new password.
  4. Confirm the new password.
  5. Click
    Save
    .
Auto Refresh
You can turn on (enable) and off (disable) auto refresh using the option in the upper-right corner of the
NetOps Portal
UI. Enabling auto refresh displays the most recent data. Auto refresh defaults to refresh every 60 seconds, however, you can adjust this setting. For example, if you set the poll cycle to 5 minutes, you can work with CA Support to set auto refresh to 5 minutes.
You can set auto refresh only to a rate that is higher than the poll cycle.