Delete Devices

To remove a device item, all associate components, and historic data from the system, delete the device.
capm250
To remove a device item, all associate components, and historic data from the system, delete the device.
When you delete a device, the following results occur:
  • All the associated device components are deleted.
  • Historical data on the deleted devices and device components is no longer accessible.
If discovery finds a deleted device,
CA Performance Management
creates a
new
device item. The new device item has no association with the old device item.
To stop polling the device and retain historical data, edit the device life cycle state. For more information, see Manage Device Life Cycles.
Follow these steps:
  1. Go to Administration, and click the Data Aggregator data source.
    The Monitored Devices page opens.
  2. (Optional) Open the Search tab, and search for the device to delete.
    Do not use the global Search box at the top of the page.
  3. Select the devices to delete, and click
    Delete
    .
  4. In the confirmation dialog, click
    Yes
    .
    The devices are deleted and are removed from the Monitored Devices inventory. Historical data for the devices is deleted from the database. After the next synchronization cycle, the devices are removed from inventory and groups in
    CA Performance Center
    .
    If another data source is managing these devices, the devices continue to appear in the Inventory view and in groups.