Reinstalling or Upgrading CA Spectrum

When you reinstall CA Spectrum or you upgrade the version of CA Spectrum, the install process automatically saves the SetScript, UpdateScript, and ClearScript to a backup directory. Versions of the default scripts that you have saved under another name, for example SetScript_version1 or UpdateScript_modified, are retained in the <$SPECROOT>/Notifier directory. That directory also contains the default scripts that are included with the reinstallation or upgrade.
casp1032
When you reinstall CA Spectrum or you upgrade the version of CA Spectrum, the install process automatically saves the SetScript, UpdateScript, and ClearScript to a backup directory. Versions of the default scripts that you have saved under another name, for example SetScript_version1 or UpdateScript_modified, are retained in the <
$SPECROOT
>/Notifier directory. That directory also contains the default scripts that are included with the reinstallation or upgrade.
In addition, the install process saves your .alarmrc file to a backup directory. Versions of the .alarmrc resource file that you have saved under another name, .alarmrc1 or .alarmrc2 for example, are retained in the <
$SPECROOT
>/Notifier directory.
The backup scripts and the backup .alarmrc are saved to the following directory:
<$SPECROOT>/Install-Tools/SAVES_<date>/<time>/Notifier
When using a custom AlarmNotifier, created by using a non default-directory, the AlarmNotifier does not upgrade by the CA Spectrum migration task and it results in having AlarmNotifier executable files (and modules/libraries) not in sync with the upgraded Spectrum install. This may cause severe issues such as, having the "old_release Notifier" opening a connection to the "new_release SpectroSERVER". In this case you have to manually update the custom AlarmNotifier directory to cover the current release executables/modules.
During the Spectrum upgrade process, customization that were made to the default files(shipped with the product) in the $SPECROOT/lib/SDPM/partslist/ location will be lost. It is recommended to preserve these files before starting the upgrade process, and merge them back after the upgrade.