Remove Devices in USM

You can remove devices through the USM Inventory node. The process gives you the ability to delete the device from inventory and prevent rediscovery, close alarms associated with the device, and delete stored QoS data for the device.
uim902-9-0-2
RemoveDevicesInUSM
You can remove devices through the USM Inventory node. The process gives you the ability to delete the device from inventory and prevent rediscovery, close alarms associated with the device, and delete stored QoS data for the device.
You can still delete devices through the discovery server probe utility. However, the following method is the preferred method to delete devices.
Follow these steps:
  1. In the USM tree view, expand the Inventory node and select a group of devices.
  2. In the device table, scroll through the list and select devices by clicking corresponding boxes in the first column. Click the column header for the boxes to sort the list by selected devices.
    You can also filter the device list in the
    Quick filter
    box above the table at any time. Filtering automatically deselects any device that is not part of the filtered list. You can select all devices in the displayed list by pulling down the
    Actions
    menu at the upper right-hand corner of the table and selecting the
    Select All
    option or deselect devices with the
    Clear Selected
    option.
  3. Pull down the
    Actions
    menu at the upper right-hand corner of the table and select the
    Delete Selected
    option. This option is active only if a device is selected.
    A dialog box appears with deletion options related to devices, alarms, and data:
    • Prevent rediscovery - Excludes the device instances from being added back into USM.
      If you do not select the
      Prevent rediscovery
      option, the device will be deleted from USM, but devices still will be monitored by probes and will be rediscovered and re-entered with new cs_Ids. If you do not use the option, you must  turn off probe monitoring for the devices to prevent rediscovery. Device deletion does not uninstall robots.
    • Acknowledge alarms - Closes all open alarms.
      Closed alarms are moved to the historic alarms table, and historic alarms are aged out of the table according to configured retention policies. Subsequent alarms for devices will still be displayed in the global alarm view and must be closed manually. Historic alarms can also be viewed in the global alarm view until they are aged out. To prevent alarms for devices from being generated by probes, configure the probe monitoring the device to exclude the devices.
    • Delete measurements - Deletes references to the device QoS data. To prevent the QoS references from being added back, you must disable probe monitoring for the device. After probe monitoring has been disabled, the measurement data will eventually be aged out.
  4. Deselect unwanted options in the dialog box.
  5. Click
    OK
    .
Allow Rediscovery of Deleted Devices
You can allow rediscovery of all or selected deleted devices previously removed through the
Prevent Rediscovery
option in removing devices.
To allow rediscovery of all devices, use the command in the Discovery Server probe utility.
Follow these steps:
  1. Invoke the probe utility for the Discovery Server.
    1. In Admin Console, click the pull-down menu for the discovery_server probe and select
      View Probe Utility in New Window
      from the list.
    2. In Infrastructure Manager, select the discovery_server probe and press
      Ctrl
      +
      p
      .  
  2. Select
    clear_all_blacklisted_devices
    from the command list or commandset pull-down menu at the left. This callback unblocks all devices. 
    Similarly, select 
    unblacklist_devices
     if you want to unblock specific devices. This callback requires bl_id as input, which you can get by querying the cm_blacklist_computer_system table based on the device name or IP.
  3. Click the green
    Execute
    button ( Green Execute Button Icon ) to send the command request.
After completing the steps to allow rediscovery of all or selected deleted devices, the previously excluded devices are added back to USM when they are rediscovered. If the probes are still configured to discover or monitor the devices, they will eventually reappear in the USM Inventory and any dynamic groups where they previously existed. You can speed this process by forcing the probes to rediscover the devices. Probes have varying ways to force rediscovery: for the discovery agent, you can select
Run discovery now
in the
Schedule
tab of the Discovery Wizard.  For other probes, restarting the probe typically will initiate republishing them to inventory.