Working with User Views

This section provides information about actions you can perform on the source objects, and helps you import, create, and manage your user views.
cvsrmv-14-0
This section provides information about actions you can perform on the source objects, and helps you import, create, and manage your user views.
2
Import User View
CA Vantage™ Web Client
allows you to import user views from Windows Client one at a time, or to import all user views from the respective Windows Client database. Export user views or the database with user views from Windows Client to your PC or mainframe, and select
one
of the options to import user views. For more information about the export process, please see
Help
,
CA SRM and Vantage Help Topics
in the Windows Client.
  • The
    Import User View
    option is available
    only
    if you are connected to a host.
  • If the host definition of the user view you want to import does not exist in the
    CA Vantage™ Web Client
    , the host definition is imported together with the user view. This host is displayed as a private host.
  • When you import the user view chart, the configuration of the user view is kept. However, the appearance of the chart is automatically set to the default
    Column
    chart type.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select the user menu, and select
    Import
    ,
    Import User View
    .
    The
    Import User View
    dialog appears.
  2. Select
    one
    of the following options to import user views:
    • Import a local file:
      To import an .mdb file stored on your local system:
      1. Select
        Local File
        .
      2. Select
        Select File
        and browse to the user view you want to import.
      The maximum size for local files is 25 MB.
    • Import files from the mainframe:
      1. Select
        Remote File
        .
      2. Enter the USS path.
  3. Select users that can access the user view.
    At least
    one
    user must be selected to enable the user view import. If you use the same user for different hosts, keep your username selected.
  4. Select
    Import
    .
Your user view is now available in
CA Vantage™ Web Client
.
Create User View
You can customize source objects to meet your needs and save them to your user views. You can create user views for any object, except for zoom and statistics objects, and dependent widgets. You can create user views from the following locations:
  • Dashboard
    Contains the
    Create User View
    option on all object widgets in the dashboard. You can use any widget on any dashboard (factory, private, or public) to create user views.
  • Object tree
    Contains the
    Create User View
    option when you open the object from the object tree. This option is also available when you select the ellipsis option next to the object in the object tree.
    If you use the ellipsis option from the object tree to create a user view, you cannot modify the user view before
    you create it. You can modify this user view
    after
    you create it, and then save the changes.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select the source object from the object tree, or select a widget from one
    of the dashboards (factory, private, or public).
  2. (Optional) Modify the object or widget to meet your needs.
    For more information, see Configure Widgets.
  3. Select
    Create User View
    .
    The
    Create User View
    dialog appears.
  4. Specify the name of the user view.
  5. Select users that can access the user view.
    At least
    one
    user must be selected to enable the user view creation. If you use the same user for different hosts, keep your username selected.
  6. Select
    Create
    .
The newly created user view is saved in a folder with your username. This folder is located in a respective
User Views
folder under the source object in the object tree.
Edit User View
Modify your existing user view to accommodate changes in your preferences. You cannot save changes into the factory user views. You can edit the factory user views, and save them as your private user views.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select a user view that you want to edit from the object tree.
    The selected user view is opened.
  2. (Optional) Configure the user view as needed.
    For more information, see Configure Widgets.
  3. Select
    Save
    .
    The
    Save User View
    dialog appears.
  4. Select
    Save
    .
    The application saves the modified user view.
Save User View As
Use the
Save User View As
option to modify the existing user view as needed, and save it as a new user view.
Follow these steps:
  1. Select a user view that you want to edit from the object tree.
    The selected user view opens.
  2. (Optional) Configure the user view as needed.
    For more information, see Configure Widgets.
  3. Select
    Save User View As
    .
    The
    Save User View As
    dialog appears.
  4. Specify the name of the user view.
  5. Select users that can access the user view.
    At least
    one
    user must be selected to enable the user view creation. If you use the same user for different hosts, keep your username selected.
  6. Select
    Save
    .
    The created user view opens in a separate tab.
Rename User View
The
Rename User View
option allows you to rename your user views.
Before you rename a user view, ensure that the user view, and any dashboards that reference the user view are closed.
Follow these steps:
  1. Navigate to a user view in the object tree.
  2. Select the ellipsis option next to the user view you want to rename.
  3. Select
    Rename User View
    option.
    The
    Rename User View
    dialog appears.
  4. Rename the user view.
  5. Select
    Rename
    .
    Your user view is renamed.
Delete User View
Use the
Delete
option to delete user views that you created.
  • Deletion removes
    only
    the user view, and does not remove the data itself from the z/OS host or
    CA Vantage™ Web Client
    .
  • Before you delete a user view, ensure that the user view, and any dashboards that reference the user view are closed.
  • If you delete a user view that is added as a widget to a dashboard, the user view is deleted. However, the widget is displayed on the dashboard as an object.
Follow these steps:
  1. Navigate to a user view in the object tree.
  2. Select the ellipsis option next to the user view you want to delete.
  3. Select
    Delete User View
    .
    The
    Delete User View
    dialog appears.
  4. Select
    Delete
    .
    Your user view is deleted and removed from the object tree.
User View Management
The User View Management section lists all your user views, including the factory user views, and provides details about hosts, users, and dashboards associated with the selected user view.
You can manage your user views, and perform the following actions:
  • Rename
    Allows you to rename your user view. For more information, see Rename User View.
  • Open
    Opens a user view in a separate tab and allows you to perform different actions. For more information, see corresponding topics in .
  • Delete
    Deletes the selected user view. User view is then removed from the object tree and User View Management tree. For more information, see Delete User View.
  • Reload
    Reloads information about the user view in the Info Area.
  • Delete All Selected
    Deletes all user views selected in the User View Management tree. Select user views that you want to delete and select
    Delete All Selected
    option.
You cannot delete or rename factory user views. You can open the factory user view from the User View Management tree to edit and save it as your own user view.