Restarting the client computers from
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager

You need to restart the Windows client computers after you install the client software. By default, the Windows client computers restart automatically after installation, though the user can delay it until a pre-scheduled time overnight. Before you export or deploy the installation package, you can configure the Windows client installation settings to customize the restart after installation. You can configure the restart options on a group to control how the client computers restart after a risk remediation or a new client download.
Mac client computers prompt for a restart after installation. If you push the client package and no one is logged on to the Mac computer, a hard restart occurs automatically when the installation completes. You cannot customize this setting.
Linux client computers do not require a restart and do not automatically restart after installation.
You can also restart the Mac and Windows client computers at any time by running a restart command from the management server. You cannot restart the Linux client with a restart command from the management server. You have the option to schedule the Windows client computers to restart during a time that is convenient for users. You can force an immediate restart, or give the users an option to delay. When you send a restart command to a Mac client computer, it always performs a hard restart.
  1. To configure risk remediation and new client download restart options on Windows client computers, in the console, click
    Clients
    .
  2. On the
    Clients
    page, select a group, and then click
    Policies
    .
  3. On the
    Policies
    tab, click
    General Settings
    .
  4. In the
    General Settings
    dialog box, on the
    Restart Settings
    tab, select the restart method and schedule.
    Some restart options apply only to Windows clients. For details, see the context-sensitive Help.
    You can also add a notification that appears on the client computer before the restart occurs. The default message tells the user that a security risk remediation or a new content download requires a restart.
  5. Click
    OK
    .
  6. To restart a selected client computer, in the console, click
    Clients
  7. On the
    Clients
    page, on the
    Clients
    tab, select a group.
  8. On the
    Clients
    tab, select a client, right-click
    Run command on computers
    , and then click
    Restart Client Computers
    .
  9. Click
    Yes
    , specify the restart options that you require, and then click
    OK
    .
    Some restart options apply only to Windows clients. For details, see the context-sensitive Help.
  10. To restart the client computers in a selected group, in the console, click
    Clients
    .
  11. On the
    Clients
    page, on the
    Clients
    tab, select a group, click
    Run a command on the group
    , and then click
    Restart Client Computers
    .
  12. Click
    Yes
    , specify the restart options that you require, and then click
    OK
    .
    Some restart options apply only to Windows clients. For details, see the context-sensitive Help.