How upgrades from another version affect notification conditions

When
Symantec Endpoint Protection
is installed on a new server, many of the preconfigured notification conditions are enabled by default. An upgrade to
Symantec Endpoint Protection
from a previous version, however, can affect which notification conditions are enabled by default. It can also affect their default settings.
The following notification conditions are enabled by default in a new installation of
Symantec Endpoint Protection
:
  • Client list changed
  • New client software
  • Over deployment issue
  • Paid license issue
  • Risk outbreak
  • Server health
  • Trialware license expiration
  • Virus definitions out-of-date
When an administrator upgrades the software from a previous version, all existing notification conditions from the previous version are preserved. However, existing
New software package
notification conditions become
New client software
notification conditions. The
New client software
condition has two settings that are not present in the
New software package
condition:
Client package
and
Security definitions
. When the software is upgraded, both of these settings are enabled for notification conditions of this type that are preserved across the upgrade.
New client software
notifications that are conditions created after the upgrade, however, have the
Client package
setting enabled and the
Security definitions
setting disabled by default.
When the
Security definitions
setting in the
New client software
notification condition is enabled, it may cause a large number of notifications to be sent. This situation can occur when there are many clients or when there are frequently scheduled security definition updates. If you do not want to receive frequent notifications about security definition updates, you can edit the notification condition to disable the
Security definitions
setting
Several notification conditions may have a new setting that did not appear in earlier versions:
Send email to system administrators
. If that setting is new for a notification condition, it is disabled by default for any existing condition of that type following the upgrade.
When a default notification condition type has not been added in a previous installation, that notification condition is added in the upgraded installation. However, the upgrade process cannot determine which default notification conditions may have been deleted deliberately by the administrator in the previous installation. With one exception, therefore, all of the following action settings are disabled in each default notification condition in an upgraded installation:
Send email to system administrators
,
Log the notification
,
Run batch file
, and
Send email to
. When all four of these actions are disabled, the notification condition is not processed, even though the condition itself is present. Administrators can edit the notification conditions to enable any or all of these settings.
Note that the
New client software
notification condition is an exception: it can produce notifications by default when it is added during the upgrade process. Unlike the other default notification conditions, both the
Log the notification
and the
Send email to system administrators
action settings are enabled for this condition.
If the previous version of the software does not support licenses, an
Upgrade license expiration
notification condition is enabled.
Some notification condition types are not available in previous versions of the software. Those notification conditions are enabled by default when the software is upgraded. See: