Adding network services to the default network services list

Network services let networked computers send and receive messages, share files, and print. You can create a firewall rule that allows or blocks network services.
The network services list eliminates the need to retype protocols and ports for the firewall rules that you create to block or allow network services. When you create a firewall rule, you can select a network service from a default list of commonly used network services. You can also add network services to the default list. However, you need to be familiar with the type of protocol and the ports that it uses.
IPv4 and IPv6 are the two network layer protocols that are used on the Internet. If you install the client on the computers that run Windows Vista, the
list includes several default rules that block the Ethernet protocol type of IPv6. If you remove the default rules, you must create a rule that blocks IPv6.
You can add a custom network service through a firewall rule. However, that network service is not added to the default list. You cannot access the custom network service from any other rule.
  1. To add network services to the default network services list
  2. In the console, click
  3. Expand
    Policy Components
    , and then click
    Network Services
  4. Under
    , click
    Add a Network Service
  5. In the
    Network Service
    dialog box, type a name for the service, and then click
  6. Select a protocol from the
    drop-down list.
    The options change based on which protocol you select.
  7. Type in the appropriate fields, and then click
  8. Add one or more additional protocols, as necessary.
  9. Click