Reverting to an older version of the
Symantec Endpoint Protection
security updates

By default, the latest version of content that is downloaded from a LiveUpdate server to the management server is automatically downloaded to Windows clients. The LiveUpdate Content policy specifies the type of content that clients are permitted to check for and install.
However, you may need to download an older version of the content in the following cases:
  • The latest set of definitions or engine causes a software conflict on the client computers.
  • You want time to test new engines on control groups before the content releases into production.
Use this feature very carefully. Unchecking a content type means that the feature is not kept up-to-date on the client. This can potentially put your clients at greater risk.
If you set the content type to
Select a revision
and then convert the Symantec Endpoint Protection client to a cloud-managed client, the content does not update on the client. To avoid this issue, make sure you set the content option to
Use latest available
before you convert the client.
  1. To revert to an older version of the
    Symantec Endpoint Protection
    security updates
  2. In the console, click
    Policies
    >
    LiveUpdate
    , and open a LiveUpdate Content policy.
  3. Under
    Windows Settings
    , click
    Security Definitions
    .
    You cannot roll back content for Mac clients or Linux clients.
  4. To roll back the content to a specific version, click one of the following options:
    • Select a revision
      >
      Edit
      , and select the revision number.
      This option locks the clients to one particular set of security definitions. The clients do not receive any new security definitions.
    • Select an engine version
      >
      Edit
      , and then select the engine version.
      This option locks the clients to one particular engine, but continues to distribute the latest security definitions that are associated with that engine. Select the engine version if you know the current engine works in your environment, and you need to test a newer engine in a different group before you release it. Or, click
      Use latest available
      for clients to continually receive the latest engine version and definitions for that content type.
  5. Click
    OK
    .
    You do not need to restart the client computer for the content to update.
  6. After you resolved any troubleshooting issues, under
    Windows Settings
    , click
    Security Definitions
    >
    Use latest available
    for each content type.