Managing client computers

Tasks to manage client computers
Task
Description
Check that the client software is installed on your computers
For more information, see:
Check whether the client is connected to the management server
You can check the client status icons in the management console and in the client. The status icon shows whether the client and the server communicate. See:
A computer may have the client software installed, but is an unmanaged client. You cannot manage an unmanaged client. Instead, you can convert the unmanaged client to a managed client. See:
Configure the connection between the client and the server
After you install the client software client computers automatically connect to the management server at the next heartbeat. You can change how the server communicates with the client computer. See:
You can troubleshoot any connection issues. See:
Check that client computers have the right level of protection
Adjust the protection on client computers
If you decide that clients do not have the right level of protection, you can adjust the protection settings.
Move endpoints from one group to another to modify protection (optional)
To change a client computer's level of protection, you can move it to a group that provides more protection or less protection. See:
When you deploy a client installation package, you specify which group the client goes in. You can move the client to a different group. But if the client gets deleted or disconnected and then gets added again and reconnected, the client returns to the original group.
To keep the client with the group it was last moved to, configure the reconnection preferences. You configure these settings in the
Communications Settings
dialog box on the
Clients
>
Policies
tab. See:
Decide whether users should have control over computer protection (optional)
You can specify the kind of control that users have over the protection on client computers.
Remove the
Symantec Endpoint Protection
client software from decommissioned computers (optional)
If you decommissioned a client computer and you want to use the license for a different computer, you can uninstall the
Symantec Endpoint Protection
client software. For the managed clients that do not connect,
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager
deletes clients from the database after 30 days by default.
You can change the period of time after which
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager
deletes the client from the database. By deleting a client, you also save space in the database. See: