What are the commands that you can run on client computers?

You can run commands remotely on individual clients or an entire group from the console.
To see the results of any of the commands, click
Monitors
page >
Logs
>
Command Status
. You can also run some of the commands from the
of type
drop-down list.
System administrators and domain administrators can run these commands automatically. For limited administrators, you enable or disable access for each command individually.
Commands that you can run on client computers
Commands
Description
Analyze
(Removed in 14.3)
In earlier releases, the
Analyze
command showed the progress of all requests that you submitted for analysis from the cloud console to the Content Analysis System (CAS).
Cancel Evidence of Compromise Scan
Starts or cancels a scan that you use on third-party remote monitoring and management.
Scan
Runs an on-demand scan on the client computers.
If you run a scan command, and select a
Custom
scan, the scan uses the command scan settings that you configured on the
Administrator-defined Scans
page. The command uses the settings that are in the Virus and Spyware Protection policy that is applied to the selected client computers.
You can run only a custom scan on Mac client computers.
Update Content
Updates content on clients by initiating a LiveUpdate session on the client computers. The clients receive the latest content from Symantec LiveUpdate.
Update Content and Scan
Updates content by initiating a LiveUpdate session and runs an on-demand scan on client computers.
Start Power Eraser Analysis
Runs a Power Eraser analysis on the selected computers. You should typically run Power Eraser only on a single computer or a small number of computers. You should only run Power Eraser when computers exhibit instability or have persistent problems. Unlike other scans, Power Eraser does not automatically remediate any potential threats. You must review the detections in the logs and specify which risks you want to remove or leave alone.
Mac and Linux client computers do not process this command.
Restart Client Computers
Restarts the client computers.
If users are logged on to the client, they are warned based on the restart options that the administrator has configured for that client. You can configure client restart options on the
General Settings
page.
Restart options apply only to Windows client computers. Mac client computers always perform a hard restart. Linux client computers ignore this command.
You can ensure that a Windows client does not restart. You can add a registry key on the client that keeps it from restarting even if an administrator issues a restart command.
Enable Auto-Protect
Enables Auto-Protect for the file system on the client computers.
By default, Auto-Protect for the file system is enabled. Symantec recommends that you always keep Auto-Protect enabled. You can lock the setting so that users on client computers cannot disable Auto-Protect.
If Auto-Protect for email is disabled, you enable it in the Virus and Spyware Protection policy.
Enable Network Threat Protection
and
Disable Network Threat Protection
Enables or disables the firewall and enables intrusion prevention on the client computers.
Linux client computers do not process this command.
Enable Download Insight
and
Disable Download Insight
Enables or disables Download Insight on the client computers.
Mac and Linux client computers do not process this command.
Delete From Quarantine
Deletes all files from Quarantine. This command only appears on the
Risk
log >
Action
drop-down list.
Collect file fingerprint list
Generates a non-editable file fingerprint list from the selected clients. The collected fingerprint list appears on the
Policies
tab under
Policy Components
>
File Fingerprint Lists
. Typically, you run this command on a single computer or small group of computers. If you select multiple computers, the command collects a separate list for each computer.
Mac and Linux client computers do not process this command.
Place Client(s) in Quarantine
and
Remove Client(s) From Quarantine
Lets you add clients to or remove clients from Quarantine. These commands are only available when you enable Deception.