Changing a default location

When the
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager
is initially installed, only one location, called Default, exists. At that time, every group’s default location is Default. Every group must have a default location. When you create a new group, the
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager
console automatically makes its default location Default.
You can specify another location to be the default location for a group after you add other locations. You may prefer to designate a location like Home or Road as the default location.
A group's default location is used if one of the following cases occurs:
  • One of the multiple locations meets location criteria and the last location does not meet location criteria.
  • You use location awareness and no locations meet the criteria.
  • The location is renamed or changed in the policy. The client reverts to the default location when it receives the new policy.
  1. To change a default location
  2. In the console, click
    Clients
    .
  3. On the
    Clients
    page, under
    Clients,
    click the group to which you want to assign a different default location.
  4. On the
    Policies
    tab, uncheck
    Inherit policies and settings from parent group "
    group name
    "
    .
  5. Under
    Tasks
    , click
    Manage Locations
    .
  6. In the
    Manage Locations
    dialog box, under
    Locations
    , select the location that you want to be the default location.
  7. Under
    Description
    , check
    Set this location as the default location in case of conflict
    .
    The Default location is always the default location until you assign another one to the group.
  8. Click
    OK
    .