Enabling location awareness for a client

To make the policies that are assigned to clients contingent on the client's connection location, you can enable location awareness for the client.
If you check
Remember the last location
, then when a client connects to the network, it is assigned the policy from the last-used location. If location awareness is enabled, then the client automatically switches to the appropriate policy after a few seconds. The policy that is associated with a specific location determines a client's network connection. If location awareness is disabled, the client can manually switch between any of the locations even when it is under server control. If a quarantine location is enabled, the client may switch to the quarantine policy after a few seconds.
If you uncheck
Remember the last location
, then when a client connects to the network, it is assigned the policy from the default location. The client cannot connect to the last-used location. If location awareness is enabled, then the client automatically switches to the appropriate policy after a few seconds. The policy that is associated with a specific location determines a client's network connection. If location awareness is disabled, the user can manually switch between any of the locations even when the client is under server control. If a quarantine location is enabled, the client may switch to the Quarantine Policy after a few seconds.
  1. To enable location awareness for a client
  2. In the console, click
    Clients
    .
  3. On the
    Clients
    page, under
    Clients
    , select the group for which you want to implement automatic switching of locations.
  4. On the
    Policies
    tab, uncheck
    Inherit policies and settings from parent group "
    group name
    "
    .
  5. Under
    Location-independent Policies and Settings
    , click
    General Settings
    .
  6. In the
    General Settings
    dialog box, on the
    General Settings
    tab, under
    Location Settings
    , check
    Remember the last location
    .
    By default, this option is enabled. The client is initially assigned to the policy that is associated with the location from which the client last connected to the network.
  7. Check
    Enable Location Awareness
    .
    By default, location awareness is enabled. The client is automatically assigned to the policy that is associated with the location from which the user tries to connect to the network.
  8. Click
    OK
    .
More information