Preventing replication during an upgrade

You should make sure that replication does not occur on any management servers that are configured as replication partners to the management server you are upgrading. If a replication partner launches replication during the upgrade, it may have unpredictable results.
To prevent replication during the upgrade, perform one of the following tasks:
  • Reschedule replication to occur outside the upgrade period. Symantec recommends this method as it is simpler.
  • Temporarily suspend replication before an upgrade, and restore it after the replication is over.
Rescheduling replication
The advantage to modifying the schedule is that the other sites do not replicate, and they keep servicing the clients until the clients are upgraded. After the upgrade finishes, the sites can both test replication by forcing a one-time replication and change the schedule back to the previous set schedule and frequency.
Follow these best practices to modify the schedule:
  • Document existing schedule and settings.
  • Change the schedule to prevent replication from happening during upgrade window by scheduling it in the future or different day.
  • Force replication so that schedule is picked up by all replication partners, or sites.
For more information, see:
Suspending and restoring replication
You must log on to
Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager
and suspend replication at a minimum of two sites.
Suspending replication is not the same as permanently deleting the replication partnership. If you delete the relationship and then reinstall the management server, the management servers perform a full replication instead of an incremental replication. See: Deleting sites
To suspend and restore replication
  1. Stop the management server service.
  2. In the console, click
    Admin > Servers
    .
  3. Under
    Local Site
    >
    Servers
    , expand
    Replication Partners
    and select the management server.
  4. Right-click the management server, and then click
    Delete Replication Partner
    .
  5. Click
    Yes
    .
  6. Repeat this procedure at all sites that replicate data.
  7. Restore replication and restart the management server service. See:
More information