Client Restart Settings (Windows only)

Use these settings to configure the client device to restart after the LiveUpdate server downloads content or if the client remediates as a result of a security risk detection.
You configure restart settings for when the client automatically upgrades under the
Client Upgrade Settings
section of this page.
Client Restart Settings
Setting
Description
Restart type
  • Immediate Restart
    Use this option when you must restart the client computer without delay. Situations that may require an immediate restart include malware remediation, schedule urgency, and proactive protection against an imminent threat.
  • No Restart
    Use this option if there is no immediate threat or need to restart the client computer at a particular time. This option is a good choice when you can safely wait to restart the computer as part of the normal user routine. In some cases, you may be required to restart the client computer to start a service. You receive a notification when this requirement is present.
  • Delayed Restart
    Use this option when you need a combination of settings that the other restart methods do not provide. You can configure the following settings:
    • Up to this time:
      Use this option when an immediate restart may affect work, or when you can safely delay the restart. Be sure that you understand the implications of delaying a restart when an active threat is present.
    • Randomize the start time to be + or -
      2
      hours
      Use this option to avoid conflicts with other scheduled tasks and to control client restart behavior. Restart randomization lets the clients restart at different times within a range of one to eight hours. This option is useful in virtualized environments to alleviate hardware overload. This overload can occur when all virtual machines that are hosted on a server restart at the same time.
Restart Settings
  • No prompt
    This option is typically used with the
    Scheduled Restart
    option to suppress the restart prompt during times when the user is away from the computer.
  • Prompt with a countdown of
    Use this option to display a prompt informing the user that a restart is imminent.
  • Prompt and allow user to delay restart until
    Use this option when you must restart the client computer within a given period of time. This option gives the user a chance to save data and exit programs, and ensures that they restart the computer.
Advanced settings
These options control the behavior of the client computer as it relates to other programs that may be running at the time of the restart.
These options apply only to Windows clients. Mac clients always perform a hard restart.
  • Restart message
    Appears on the users' devices to inform them that the device is about to restart.
  • Hard restart
    This option forces the client computer to restart regardless of any other activity occurring on the client computer. In most cases, this option is not used except in extreme circumstances.
  • Restart immediately if the user is not logged in
    If the user is not logged in when the restart request is sent, this option forces an immediate restart and overrides other pending restart actions.